Celebrating the Year of Consecrated Life . . .

Celebrating the Year of Consecrated Life . . . 

. . . in the Milwaukee Area

. as many religious as possible from the Milwaukee Archdiocese gathered at Holy Hill for a special Mass celebrating the beginning of the Year for Consecrated Life on Friday, January 30, at 2 p.m.

Archbishop Jerome E. Listecki celebrated the Mass along with 22 concelebrants. Religious from all of the congregations in the diocese were in attendance. SM Beatrice Knipple said, “It was surprising to hear that Milwaukee is the fifth highest diocese with the largest number of religious communities serving the Archdiocese.

In his homily, Archbishop Listecki noted the influence that sisters had on his life by their commitment to Christ through their prayer life and presence. He explained the sisters’ importance as the ones that excite and ignite others to embrace the future with hope. He said, “We are not called to be successful, but to be faithful. We have been chosen to ‘Wake Up the World.'”

Following the liturgy, everyone enjoyed a reception in the cafeteria at Mary Help of Christians Basilica.

. . . in Canada

Felicians from the Toronto Archdiocese gathered at St. Paul’s Basilica in Toronto along with other religious to celebrate a special Mass for the World Day of Prayer for Consecrated Life with Thomas Cardinal Collins as the main celebrant.

The pews were filled with gray, brown, blue, and white habits:  Franciscans, Jesuits, Carmelites, Benedictines, Dominicans, and seminarians.

S Maria Louise Edwards said she felt that one of the most moving moments was after the homily when all the religious stood up to commonly renew their vows. “This is my first year as a vowed religious. But the unity I felt gave me a sense of belonging to the Church that I’ve never experienced before.”

Everyone stood and together renewed their commitment:

Gracious and loving God, trusting in your faithful love, I renew my vows that I have already professed as a consecrated religious to live my life following Christ in chastity, poverty and obedience.

By my consecrated chastity, I choose the Lord with singleness of heart. I commit myself to celibate love for the sake of the kingdom and, following the pattern of Christ’s love, I open my heart to all people, especially with those with whom I live and work.

By my poverty I choose dependence on God and simplicity of life. I pledge myself anew to use wisely the resources of this earth and to foster an attitude of contentment with what is provided. I will not accumulate things I do not need, but I will strive to share what I have – my time, talents, possessions – with others, especially those in need.

 

Leave a Reply

