It all started with a simple question

7745Michele Curry, a Felician candidate, shared her vocation story with her parish family, Saint Martin de Porres, in Yorba Linda, CA, at three Masses on Sunday, May 25.

It all started with a simple question. “Have you considered religious life?” You see, I was sharing my life story when, at the end of our discussion, the parochial vicar asked me if I had considered religious life. At first, I was a bit taken aback. Like many cradle Catholics, as a young girl, I had dreamed of being a nun. But life happened, and while I still had yearning for a deeper, closer relationship with God, I thought the nun ship had long sailed.

Every fiber of my being was saying, “Yes, I have considered religious life and can you please help me.” Instead, I started to list all the reasons I could that would disqualify me. Father patiently addressed each of my imagined disqualifiers and, in the end, encouraged me to pray. I promised I would, and as I was leaving the Church, I saw a Vision magazine in the vestibule. I had never seen one before, but it looked interesting and as I picked it up, I realized it was a vocation magazine and sure enough, one of the articles was on how to discern if religious life is right for you! I took this as a good sign, and so, my journey in discerning religious life began.

Currently, I am a candidate with the Felician Sisters, and this coming October, I will be moving to Enfield, CT, where I will start my postulancy year. I am grateful to God for all the blessings in my life and very grateful for that simple question, “Have you considered religious life?”

Leave a Reply

