Renewal of Vows

Vocations to religious life are a blessing and a gift from God. We bless our brother in Christ!

Breaking In The Habit

I profess to live in poverty, chastity and obedience for the period of one year. I profess to live in poverty, chastity and obedience for the period of one year.

Like the process of dating, engagement and marriage, the process of becoming a fully-professed member of a religious order takes on many stages. Last August, I professed for the first time my vow to live in poverty, chastity, and obedience in the way of St. Francis of Assisi. In a way, these vows were a test: I was testing the life to see if it was truly where I was called.

And wouldn’t you know it? Time’s up on that first year. In the Church’s great wisdom, however, the time has not come for me to make my lifetime commitment: for the next three years, all I have to do is profess vows for a period of one year as I continue to discern my place in the Order of Friars Minor.

In other words…

View original post 322 more words

Leave a Reply

